top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLydia Hughes

Research into peoples experiences and the stigma surrounding Creativity and the Arts...

My dissertation title : ‘In Light of the Perceived Stigma Surrounding it, How can Creative Education, and the Arts, be Beneficial to all?’


Throughout my life I have always struggled to excel in school and had to put in a lot of extra work to keep up with my peers - constantly feeling inadequate. When I enrolled at Art School I finally felt as if I was accepted and thrived in an environment of art, design and creativity.


For the first time in my life I felt I was surrounded by people who were like me and had shared this experience.

As part of my research I sent out a survey asking questions about people’s experiences pursing creative education and careers. The results I received really shocked me and I wanted to shared quotes from respondents answers to shed light on how the unfair stigma seems to still exist in society today.


Images I created to document the responses:




Organisations such as The Creative Industries Federation and social projects such as Tom Pigeons MAKE BANK are just a few examples of people contributing to this stigma being lifted, helping creatives like me. ✏️🖍✂️🎨👩🏼 @plymouthcollegeofart @creative_fed @the_makebank @tom_pigeon


Featured on Tom Pigeons The Make Bank - Instagram Page.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page